Welcome to Yale Black Law Students Association


 

Message from the Board


Welcome to Yale Law School! We're so excited to have you in the BLSA Community. The Black Law Students Association at YLS's goal is to foster an inclusive community and to provide as much support as possible during your time here. We have a variety of resources to ensure that your law school experience is successful, including academic and professional support.

We kick off fall semester with our retreat to welcome new members into the community. During the course of the year, we host events to connect students with professors, law firms, and judges as well as the opportunity to engage with the greater New Haven community. Never hesitate to reach out to 2L's and 3L's in the BLSA community, we're here to help and are looking forward to getting to know you all better!

President: Dianne Lake 
dianne.lake@yale.edu

Vice President: Briana Clark
briana.clark@yale.edu

Secretary: Elsa Mota
elsa.mota@yale.edu

Treasurer: Farrah Ricketts
farrah.ricketts@yale.edu

Parliamentarian: Kossi Anyinefa
kossi.anyinefa@yale.edu

3L Representative: Casey Dennis
casey.dennis@yale.edu

Academic Development Committee Chair: Allaya Lloyd
allaya.lloyd@yale.edu

Alumni Affairs Committee Chair: Esther Araya
esther.araya@yale.edu

Recruitment & Professional Development Committee Chairs: Samantha Grayman & Mohamed Said
samantha.grayman@yale.edu & mohamed.said@yale.edu

Community Development Committee Chair: Ruel Jerry
ruel.jerry@yale.edu

Political Action Committee Chair: Daniel Hornung
daniel.hornung@yale.edu

Mission


The Yale Black Law Students Association (BLSA) is a student organization composed of Yale Law School students concerned with issues affecting members of the African Diaspora. The purpose of BLSA is to support and advance the interests of its members and the broader Black community. In this effort, BLSA focuses on the recruitment and development of Black law students and seeks to build relationships between current students and alumni. We also encourage the academic and professional development of BLSA members by informing them of employment and educational opportunities and by supporting their efforts to take advantage of them.

To expand BLSA's impact beyond the walls of the Law School and elite professional circles, we engage in community service within the New Haven community and beyond as well as political action on issues of local, state, national, and global import. Lastly, BLSA encourages social interaction between its members to foster meaningful networks, which are crucial to success in the legal profession.

Programming & Annual Events


Retreat: Every fall, BLSA takes a trip together to Cape Cod for a weekend retreat to get to know each other and kick off the academic year.

Forums for Academic and Professional Support

Alumni Mixers

 
New York City Job Trek

Black Excellence Speaker Series: The Black Excellence Speaker Series is an annual series held in February in which BLSA invites amazing speakers to the law school for lunch or dinner talks.

Washington D.C. Trip

And Many Social Events!

Fostering community within BLSA is top priority. We hold many social events including kickbacks, brunches, potlucks, and parties in the homes of BLSA members. We also have a BLSA big sib program where 1L's are matched with upperclassmen to provide guidance through navigating the first year of law school. Finally, we have Harlem Renaissance in the spring semester, where we dress our best for fun festive evening.

News & Current Events


Read the latest news and learn about current events from BLSA. 

Gratitude to Our Sponsors


 

BLSA is extremely grateful to our sponsors:

If you would like to sponsor an event, please contact our Treasurer, Farrah Ricketts, at farrah.ricketts@yale.edu

 

Contact Us


If you would like more information on BLSA, you can contact us by email at blsa@yale.edu or dianne.lake@yale.edu