Wednesday, October 18, 2006

Chief Justices Margaret Marshall '76, Drayton Nabers, Jr. '65, and Randall Shepard '72 Receive Yale Law School Award of Merit

On Saturday, October 14, The Yale Law School Association, the alumni organization of Yale Law School, presented the Award of Merit to the Hon. Margaret Marshall '76, Chief Justice of the Massachusetts Supreme Judicial Court; the Hon. Drayton Nabers, Jr. '65, Chief Justice of the Supreme Court of Alabama; and the Hon. Randall T. Shepard '72, Chief Justice of the Indiana Supreme Court.

Since 1957, the Yale Law School Association has presented the Award of Merit annually to an esteemed graduate of Yale Law School or to a person who has served as a full-time member of the Yale Law School faculty for at least ten years. The recipients of the Award are recognized for having made a substantial contribution to public service or to the legal profession.

Previous recipients of the award include: Eugene V. Rostow '37 (1965), Cyrus R. Vance '42 (1971), Gerald R. Ford '41 (1979), Eleanor Holmes Norton '64 (1980), Ellen Ash Peters '54 (1983), and William J. Clinton '73 (1993).

The Award itself was redesigned in 1998. It is a stained glass medallion resting in an oak base with a brass plaque inscribed to the recipient. The medallion depicts a traditional seated image of Justice holding scales in one hand and a sword in the other.