Administrative Law New Scholarship Roundtable

The Administrative Law New Scholarship Roundtable is an annual event, hosted by a rotating series of law schools, at which approximately 12 authors workshop their papers in a series of individual sessions, one for each paper, over the course of a day and a half. Each paper is introduced by a senior scholar who comments on the work and facilitates discussion of it with all participants. Papers are chosen by the multi-school organizing committee from a public call for proposals that is announced several months in advance of the event. To be eligible, authors must have less than 10 years of tenure-track teaching.

This year’s Roundtable was to be hosted in-person at Yale Law School on September 17–18, 2021. Due to University policy against in-person conferences due to COVID-19, the Roundtable has been converted to a series of virtual mini-workshops:


Mini-Roundtable 1

Myrisha S. Lewis, “Normalizing Reproductive Genetic Innovation”

Commenter: Glen Staszewski


Amy Semet, “Reforming the Patent Trial and Appeal Board Post-Arthrex”

Commenter: Melissa Wasserman


Rephael Stern, “The British Origins of Informal Rulemaking: A Lost History of Anglo-American Administrative Law, 1920s-1950s”

Commenter: Emily Bremer

Extra Commenter: Nicholas Parrillo

Mini-Roundtable 2

Ashraf Ahmed, Lev Menand, and Noah A. Rosenblum, “The Tragedy of Presidential Administration”

Commenter: Jennifer Nou

Andrea Scoseria Katz and Noah A. Rosenblum, “The Origins of the Administrator-in-Chief: Myers and the Progressive Presidency”

Commenter: Jeff Pojanowski

Todd Phillips, “Commission Chairs”

Commenter: Kristin Hickman

Mini-Roundtable 3

Emily R. Chertoff, “Agency Noncompliance, Agency Culture, and Inferior Officer Discipline”

Commenter: Miriam Seifter

Kathleen Claussen, “Improvised Implementation”

Commenter: Nathan Cortez

Maria Ponomarenko, “Substance and Procedure in Local Administrative Law”

Commenter: Jerry Mashaw

Mini-Roundtable 4

Marie Boyd, “Preemption & Gender & Racial (In)equity: Why State Tort Law is Needed in the Cosmetics Context”

Commenter: Karen Tani

Shalini Bhargava Ray, “Immigration Law’s Arbitrariness Problem”

Commenter: Bernard Bell

Shalev Roisman, “Presidential Motive”

Commenter: Michael Sant’Ambrogio

Extra Commenter: Nicholas Parrillo

For questions about the Roundtable, please contact Nicholas Parrillo at nicholas.parrillo@yale.edu.

For the program of authors, paper titles, and commenters for the 2020 Roundtable, which was organized through Yale and conducted as a series of virtual mini-workshops due to COVID-19, see below. 

In 2020, the Administrative Law New Scholarship Roundtable was originally scheduled for June 8–9, at Yale Law School, but the pandemic prevented it from occurring in person.  The organizing committee converted the event into a series of four virtual “mini-roundtables,” each consisting of 3–4 papers with assigned commenters, occurring at various times during August and September 2020. Paper titles and participants are listed below.



Kathleen Claussen, “Trade Administration”

     Commenter: Anne Joseph O’Connell 

Irene Oritseweyinmi Joe, “Responding to Exonerations”

     Commenter: Michael Sant’Ambrogio 

Shalev Roisman, “Presidential Law” 

     Commenter: Peter Shane


Nancy Chi Cantalupo, “1/1000th of a Person? Democracy, Notice and Comment Rulemaking, and Protecting Title IX Rights” 

     Commenter: Melissa Wasserman 

Blake Emerson, “The Departmental Structure of Executive Power: Subordinate Checks from Madison to Mueller” 

     Commenter: Sophia Lee 

Joshua Macey, “The Regulatory Compact” 

     Commenter: Nicholas Bagley 

Shalini Bhargava Ray, “Abdication Through Enforcement” 

     Commenter: Nicholas Parrillo 


Craig Konnoth, “Preemption Through Privatization” 

     Commenter: Nathan Cortez 

Jane Manners and Lev Menand, “Authorizing Presidential Removal: Inefficiency, Neglect of Duty, Malfeasance in Office and the Contours of Agency Independence” 

     Commenter: Miriam Seifter 

Tejas N. Narechania and Erik Stallman, “Internet Federalism” 

     Commenter: Jessica Bulman Pozen 


Emily Bremer, “One Kind of Hearing” 

     Commenter: Cristina Rodríguez 

Oren Tamir, “The Firewall in Our Public Law” 

     Commenter: Chris Walker 

Ilan Wurman, “In Search of Prerogative” 

     Commenter: Glen Staszewski