Monday, February 5, 2007

YLS Faculty and Alumni Honored For Legal Writing By The Green Bag Journal

The Green Bag Journal has selected works by a number of members of the Yale Law School community as "exemplars of good legal writing" for 2006.

Sterling Professor of Law and Political Science Bruce Ackerman ’67 was honored in the category of “Books” for The Failure of the Founding Fathers: Jefferson, Marshall, and the Rise of Presidential Democracy (Belknap 2005), and Yale Law School Dean Harold Hongju Koh was honored in the category of “Long Articles” for “Can the President Be Torturer-in-Chief?" 81 Indiana L.J. 1145 (2006).

Honors also went to Yale Law School graduates Jack Goldsmith ’89 for his book (with Tim Wu), Who Controls the Internet, to Seth Waxman ’77 for his amicus brief in Smith v. Texas, and to Adam Liptak ’88 and Jeffrey Rosen ’91 for their short articles in The New York Times.

All the selected pieces will be published in the 2007 Green Bag Almanac and Reader, which will honor Exemplary Legal Writing 2006.