Yale Law School Committee Releases Report on Diversity and Inclusion

In spring 2015, Yale Law School Dean Robert C. Post convened the Committee on Diversity and Inclusion and asked it to research issues and recommend initiatives to enhance diversity and inclusion within the Law School community. The Committee, composed of faculty and students, and co-chaired by Professors James Forman, Heather Gerken, and Tom Tyler, released its report in March 2016. After months of research and consultations with students, student groups, faculty, alumni, and staff, the committee made more than 60 recommendations focusing on student and faculty diversity, mentoring and classroom climate, enhanced support for student and alumni groups, and methods to ensure ongoing progress on these issues.

Dean Post shared the Committee’s report and appendix, calling it "an outstanding report that provides a road map for creating a stronger and more inclusive community,” and noted that some of the recommendations were so compelling that the School took the unusual step of implementing them before the report was even issued. He also noted that the School had engaged former Associate Dean of Student Affairs Sharon Brooks ’00 as a consultant to assist the School with implementation of the Committee’s recommendations.

Read Dean Post’s announcement of the report.

Read the report and appendix.