Publications and Journals

The Yale Law School faculty continue to produce some of the world’s foremost works on constitutional theory, including leading casebooks such as Processes of Constitutional Decision-making (Dean Paul Brest, Sanford Levinson, Akhil Amar, Jack Balkin, and Reva Siegel). The Yale Law Journal and other student-run journals also offer articles by prominent scholars, practitioners, and students on the theory and practice of constitutional law.

Recent Books

Akhil Amar
America’s Unwritten Constitution: The Precedents and Principles We Live By (2012)
Jack M. Balkin
Living Originalism (2011)
Jack M. Balkin
Constitutional Redemption: Political Faith in an Unjust World (2011)
Bruce Ackerman
The Decline and Fall of the American Republic (2010)
William N. Eskridge Jr. and John Ferejohn
A Republic of Statutes (2010)
Jack Balkin, Reva Siegel 
The Constitution in 2020 (2009)
Bruce Ackerman
Before the Next Attack: Preserving Civil Liberties in the Age of Terrorism (2006)
Akhil Amar
America’s Constitution: A Biography (2005)
Jed Rubenfeld
Revolution by Judiciary: The Structure of American Constitutional Law (2005)


A Selection of Other Books of Note

Bruce Ackerman '67, Sterling Professor of Law and Political Science, The Failure of the Founding Fathers (2005)
Bruce Ackerman ’67, Sterling Professor of Law and Political Science, We the People (1991, 1998)
Akhil Reed Amar ‘84, Southmayd Professor of Law, The Bill of Rights (1998)
Alexander M. Bickel, The Least Dangerous Branch (1962)
Alexander M. Bickel, The Supreme Court and the Idea of Progress (1978)
Alexander M. Bickel, The Morality of Consent (1975)
Boris I. Bittker ‘41, The Case for Black Reparations (1973)
Charles L. Black, Jr. ‘43, Capital Punishment, the Inevitability of Caprice and Mistake (1974)
Charles L. Black, Jr. ‘43, Impeachment (1974)
Charles L. Black, Jr. ‘43, Structure and Relationship in Constitutional Law (1969)
Charles L. Black, Jr. ’43, The People and the Court (1960)
Ralph S. Brown ’39, Loyalty and Security (1958)
Robert A. Burt ’64, Alexander M. Bickel Professor of Law, The Constitution in Conflict (1992)
Robert A. Burt ’64, Alexander M. Bickel Professor of Law, Two Jewish Justices (1988)
Stephen L. Carter '79, William Nelson Cromwell Professor of Law, Reflections of an Affirmative Action Baby (1991)
Robert M. Cover, Justice Accused (1975)
Thomas Emerson ‘31 et al., Political and Civil Rights in the United States (1952)
Thomas Emerson ‘31, The System of Freedom of Expression (1970)
Thomas Emerson ‘31, Toward a General Theory of the First Amendment (1966)
Owen M. Fiss, Sterling Professor of Law, The Irony of Free Speech (1996)
Joseph Goldstein ‘52, The Intelligible Constitution (1992)
Harold Hongju Koh, Dean and Gerard C. and Bernice Latrobe Smith Professor of International Law, The National Security Constitution (1990)
Fred Rodell ‘31, Nine Men (1955)
Eugene V. Rostow ‘37, The Sovereign Prerogative (1962)
Harry H. Wellington, Interpreting the Constitution (1990)